Pepper

This year my summer was less exciting. I didn’t go to nice beaches or any other nice places with my friends because I didn’t feel like it. So I just stayed at home where I watched movies on my 42-inch Samsung TV, read books, and sweated off pounds by playing Just Dance. The only thing that added a bit of excitement to my summer was my having an opportunity to babysit Pepper for two weeks!

Pepper is the dog of my brother’s girlfriend. He is a small, black and brown Chihuahua/Pomeranian mix.  He is sweet and playful. It’s easy to take care of him since he was trained by his mommy/owner. So for two weeks I fed him dog food and cleaned his poop and urine off the floor (because sometimes he forgot to do his business on the stack of newspapers), and my kasambahay washed him in the bathroom. Most nights  he slept beside me in my bedroom.

During this time, I noticed a few things about Pepper:

1. He liked to hide under the chairs, tables, and beds when I ignored him. He would do this when I was busy with Facebook. The little bell around his little neck would come in handy in this situation because when he moved, his bell tinkled so I knew where to find him.

2. His little legs would shake when new people picked him up and carried him.

3. He would cry when his parents (my brother and his girlfriend) left him.

4. He could easily sense if I would  leave him. He would get fidgety when he saw me dressed up and carrying a bag. And then magtatampo siya. 

5. He would get scared when my own dogs Damien and Magic barked at him.  He would move away from them.

6. He had a poor appetite. Usually he would eat only at midnight. My kasambahay and I had to force-feed him at day.

7. He liked to lick the feet of every person he saw.

8. He loved belly rubs! When I touched his legs, he would automatically open them while he was lying on his back for a belly rub.

I’ve grown fond of Pepper/Pepi/Pepito because he made me feel needed even for just a short while. Because of him, I felt the true meaning of unconditional love. He’s the only one who would get too excited when I came home. He would happily jump on my lap! Dogs can really ease your stress. Sometimes I’d rather be with dogs than people.

Here’s my photo with Pepper.

pepito and me

My hair is too short and he’s too young on this photo because it was taken a long time ago. I forgot to take a new picture with him before he went back to his mommy. I miss Pepper so much! I showered him with kisses before he left me. 😦 I’d wait for a very long time before I see him again. 😦 😦

Leave a comment